Jones, Kevin [Composer] (2003) Polkadotycat. (Music). (Unpublished)


Computer-generated score for 2 pianos. The eight movements are generated automatically using a powerful recursive algorithm devised by the composer that produces nested structures of self-similar rhythmic and textural patterns. The algorithm seeks to maximize variety and contrast in output from the minimum of generative code. Each movement’s different short seeding-sequence acts like a type of musical DNA capable of spawning a complex and uniquely characteristic musical organism.

Item Type: Composition
Additional Information: Extract broadcast on BBC Radio 3 as part of documentary The Robot Composer (31st August 2003).
Uncontrolled Keywords: composition, computer, piano
Research Area: Music
Computer science and informatics
Faculty, School or Research Centre: Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (until 2017) > School of Performance and Screen Studies
Depositing User: Rebecca Read
Date Deposited: 09 Jul 2010 10:39
Last Modified: 09 Jul 2010 10:39
URI: http://eprints.kingston.ac.uk/id/eprint/997

Actions (Repository Editors)

Item Control Page Item Control Page